Donate Now
Privacy Policy

Board Members > Next Board Member


Biographical note:

Ama Ata Aidoo is one of Africa's pre-eminent writers, whose novel, Changes, won the 1992 Commonwealth Prize, and whose play, "Anowa," was included in the Zimbabwe International Book Fair's list of the hundred best African books of the 20th century.

Aidoo was born in Ghana, where she studied with the dramatist Efua Sutherland. She continued her studies in Germany and the United States, then returned to Ghana to teach at the University of the Cape Coast. She was Minister of Education for one year, in 1983, after which she settled in Zimbabwe, taking frequent teaching jobs abroad while pursuing her career as a writer. Aidoo has taught most recently at Hamilton College, Oberlin College, Brandeis University, Mount Holyoke College, and Smith College, and frequently lectures abroad as well. An outspoken feminist, she was the founding Chair of the Zimbabwe Women Writers Association in 1991, and is a board member of OWWA (Organization of Women Writers of Africa) and SIGI (Sisterhood is Global Institute), among others. Now living in Ghana, she is the founder and director of Mbaasem, a non-profit that is establishing a residency program for African women writers.


  • Anowa. Harlow: Longman, 1970. (drama)
  • No Sweetness Here. Harlow: Longman, 1970; New York: Feminist Press, 1995. (novel)
  • The Dilemma of a Ghost. Harlow: Longman, 1970. (drama)
  • Our Sister Killjoy or Reflections from a Black-eyed Squint. Harlow: Longman, 1977. (novel)
  • Someone Talking to Sometime. Harare: College Press, 1985. (poetry)
  • The Eagle and the Chickens and Other Stories. Enugu: Tana Press, 1986; Harare: Ministry of Education, 1986; Accra: Afram Publications, 1988. (juvenile)
  • Birds and Other Poems. Harare: Ministry of Education; and Harare: College Press, 1987. (juvenile)
  • Changes. London: Women's Press, 1991; New York: Feminist Press, 1993. (novel)
  • An Angry Letter in January and Other Poems. Coventry: Dangaroo Press, 1992.
  • The Girl Who Can and Other Stories. Accra: Sub-Saharan Press, 1996.



African Postcolonial Literature in English

Organization of Women Writers of Africa